Manuscripts, oral history and pictures catalogue
Adlib Internet Server 5


  • Title
    David Ireland recordings of interviews with David Ireland, and radio programs and lectures concerning his literary works, 1976-1982
  • Creator
  • Call number
    MLOH 29
  • Level of description
  • Date

  • Type of material
  • Reference code
  • Issue Copy
    Sound Recording : MLOH 29/1-7
  • Physical Description
    Sound Recordings - 7 cassettes - 4hrs

    David Ireland was born in 1927 at Lakemba, NSW. He had a variety of occupations, including greenkeeping, factory work and working in an oil refinery, prior to becoming a full time writer in 1973. He has published poetry and plays but is best known for his novels, including The chantic bird (1968), The unknown industrial prisoner (1971), The flesheaters (1972), Burn (1974), The glass canoe (1976), A woman of the future (1979), City of women (1981), Archimedes and the seagle (1984) and Bloodfather (1987). Ireland won the Miles Franklin Award in 1971, 1976 and 1980, the Age Book of the Year Award in 1980 and the Gold Medal of the Australian Literary Society in 1985. He was awarded an A.O. in 1981.
  • Scope and Content
    1976-1982; Recordings of interviews with David Ireland and radio programs and lectures concerning his literary work. Interviewers include John West, Eric Waite, Helen Daniel, Virginia Osborne and Barry Eaton. There is a lecture delivered at Adelaide by Louis Clancy on the portrayal of women in the novels of Patrick White, David Ireland and Tom Keneally.
  • Source
    Presented by David Ireland in 1987
  • Access Conditions

    Master only. For access to this oral history collection please submit your request through Ask a Librarian
  • General note

    The tapes accompany literary papers and manuscripts of David Ireland located at MLMSS 4233 ADD-ON 1824.
  • Creator/Author/Artist
  • Name
  • Subject

Share this result by email